Going Green (and Orange, and Purple)

16976520_1774494609242761_1272938785_n
Leafy Kale, try experimenting with different types of salad to get your daily veggies!

I wrote previously about a “cheat day,” and now I’m going to do the exact opposite: tell you all about vegetables. If done right, I promise they’re not as bad as you once thought as a kid, and if done really well, you’ll even end up enjoying them!

One of my favorites that I’ve discovered this year is brussels sprouts. This was maybe one of the most shocking to me, as I absolutely refused to eat them growing up. No matter how they were cooked, I was having none of it. Now, though, I gave them a chance, and ended up loving them. I most commonly make them by lightly coating them in olive oil, adding salt and pepper, and then roasting them in the oven. Another method of cooking them that I recently discovered is in a pan over the stove, with coconut oil instead of olive to add a bit of extra/different flavor.

18159765_1868684323157122_1728792451_o
Arugula Salad, with a Creamy Balsamic Dressing

Eggplant is another food that I discovered I liked this year, and for some of our meals we’ve done some really good stuffed eggplant. A recipe that we’ve used in the past can be found here.

I’ve also enjoyed eating butternut squash – I like it best when it’s made the same way as the brussel sprouts, you can even cook them together!

16976702_1774494885909400_1024411175_n
Getting ready to roast some broccoli, mushrooms, and brussels sprouts 

My Favorite Veggies to Roast: Ranked

  1. Brussels Sprouts
  2. Mushrooms
  3. Broccoli
  4. Butternut Squash
  5. Eggplant
  6. Green Beans  
One thought on “Going Green (and Orange, and Purple)”

Leave a Reply

